Joe Hays

Icon

from brklyn to the lou; from preaching to teaching

a dream

You might remember me asking for your help on how to tutor a kid who doesn’t know their multiplication table. I’m happy to report that not only does she know her multiplication table but she’s made huge strides in several of her subjects. I’m confident that she’ll move on from the safe environment of elementary school and into the unsympathetic arms of middle school.

I’m sad to report, however, that the very tutoring center that gave her the extra push she needed to move to the next grade level is closing this month. You see, the city made budget cuts and community centers located in the middle of housing projects for low-income folks were the first items cut. That’s right, the community center is closing down; therefore, there is no more tutoring for these kids.

Which leads me to this, since coming here to Brooklyn, I’ve envisioned CCFB overseeing a tutoring program. I haven’t shared that dream with many folks and I do so here reluctantly knowing that it might never be a dream realized. But I thought that maybe if I blogged about it, you all might hold me accountable to search out the possibilities of this dream.

Here are the potential roadblocks hindering this dream:

  1. CCFB owns no property. We rent out the cafeteria in a public school for our Sunday services. We have no physical space to meet in.
  2. CCFB doesn’t have much money. We’re a small church and while we are seeing some numeric growth, it’s still not enough to sustain a tutoring center.
  3. To make the tutoring center legit, there would be much work that would have to be done. I’m thinking insurance, rules, responsibilities, etc. In other words, a lot of work would have to go into this.
  4. Finally, many of CCFB’s people don’t live in this neighborhood so they would support it from afar. They would not be able to give their physical time and energy to this dream.

A couple of these roadblocks are easy to remedy:

  1. CCFB could rent a storefront near the housing projects – which, by the way, is just two blocks from where I live. There is always space to rent.
  2. With the help of others, I’m up for this kind of challenge so the amount of work isn’t an issue.
  3. The fourth roadblock wouldn’t be a problem either as tons of neighborhood folks want to give their time in this very rewarding way. I’m not advocating for a Christian tutoring program in which at the end of the day we all stand in a circle and pray. I just want to help the kids with their homework. I’m guessing a lot of my neighbors do as well.

So the only roadblock is money. hmm…

Filed under: Brooklyn, CCfB, church, education, hope, math, tutoring

No Responses Yet

  1. Dana says:

    Joe, you should contact the Pastor at Hope Community Church in Detroit. They are a congregation living right in the heart of the city and run a great tutoring program. Yes, they do have their own building, but that can be easily remedied for you if you can build a partnership with a school.

    These church leaders work directly with the school system to find kids in the most amount of need balanced with a desire to commit to seeking help. They might be a good source of info for you. If you want some direct contact, let me know, and I’ll get the numbers or e-mails you need.

    I think it’s an awesome dream to want to run a tutoring program as a piece of how CCfB breathes life into your community. It’s so needed and does so much good for the kids on a whole bunch of levels outside of just the schoolwork.

  2. RM says:

    Joe, I was just thinking yesterday that it would be cool if CCfB could run some kind of community program that could help kids/parents but thought of the location thing as a barrier (I sheepishly admit that I was thinking of this as I was watching the American Idol “Gives Back” show instead of working on my article). Great idea!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Joe,

    I have a friend that attends Saturn Road Church of Christ in Garland, TX. Each summer she is part of their summer reading/tutoring program. It is for the kids in their neighborhood. I don’t know all the details, but I think she said they receive a grant to do this. Don’t quote me on that. 🙂 Here is the program link http://careplayread.org/ The contact person is also listed there. Good luck to you! As an elementary teacher I know the need for these types of programs is great! Kudos to you for getting involved and trying to make a difference!

  4. Becky says:

    Hi Joe-

    I learned of your blog from Jesse Harmon. I’ve read it since Ira was born. Congrats on how well he is doing.
    My home church started an after-school tutoring program about ten years ago. It started as a two day a week program and has grown to four days a week and two evenings when we serve the kids dinner and have other programs into the evening. We do have our own building and that is a blessing. We partnered with a near-by elementary school and our kids are recommended to Kids’Place (our program) because of learning issues and behavorial issues. We are able through donations and grants to offer this to families for no charge. We now have three or so paid employees and we get most of our tutors/volunteers from local universities (college kids).
    Anyway, I’d like to get you in contact with our director of educational ministries (assoc. pastor). This program was her dream and she may have good suggestions as to where to start.
    I’m not sure if you get my email address with this post…let me know how to connect you to Brenda…if you wish.

    Becky G.

  5. kel says:

    what about partnering with a library?

  6. yaelgutt says:

    Joe, wonderful, incredible idea. I know half our friends and family read your blog daily. And I am sure that goes for the other thousands of hits you get. You should at least set up a link so people can give you direct donations- this is just one example: http://www.justgiving.com/. And maybe make incentives for higher donation amounts, like a certain $ amount will get the donor’s name on a tile on the wall of the tutoring center. Painting or designing the tile would also be another fun activity the kids could do. Anyway, you have tons of people that will help. From near and far, far, far. Even London.

    xo

  7. Clay says:

    Joe,
    I don’t have the money you need. But if your needs change to include an unemployed former teacher with a master’s in math education, I’m your man.
    Seriously, have you and Laura been to Brooklyn Superhero Supply? It’s a tutoring center and one of my favorite places in the city.

    Hoping to see you and finally visit your church this summer. Glad to read that things are well.
    Clay

  8. […] meaning of life. I, along with a couple of others from CCFB, took some steps toward concretizing our dream of a tutoring center. I stayed up way too late  watching a movie (kiss kiss bang bang) with some guy friends I rarely […]

Leave a comment