Joe Hays

Icon

from brklyn to the lou; from preaching to teaching

gears shifted

We’re officially in St. Louis – or, The Lou, if you’re cool. Laura and the kids arrived on Friday afternoon. I arrived on Saturday afternoon. And for the most part, we’ve settled in. Our beds are put together – hey, can i get an ‘amen’ for putting Ira and Sophia’s cheap IKEA bunk bed back together? – we’ve signed up for access to the city pool, and Sophia went to check out her new school.

Tonight, I begin a long summer of training with Teach For America. And I’m absolutely excited about it. But it was weird this past weekend to not have church responsibilities crowding my every thought. And it will be weird to meet new people tonight and over the next few weeks and speak about church ministry by using verbs in the past tense. I trained so long and hard to enter into the field of church ministry and now I’m not in it. I’m not sure how I feel about that but I can say that this past weekend, there was a gaping hole in my life. I’m praying the hole will be filled with this new endeavor and that it will be as equally fulfilling as church ministry was.

—–

Change is coming to my blog. My good friend, Kenny, is working on getting a new blog started for me so that CCFB can rightly claim this blog as their own. My new blog address will be…get ready for it…because the address will blow you away…ready?…okay, here goes:

joehays.wordpress.com

Wait, wait, wait. It’s not ready yet but it will be. Kenny’s swamped with work so it won’t happen for a while but I’m hoping that by announcing this over and over again, my mom and dad will catch on at some point. I think this is what those big dogs in DC call a preemptive strike.

—–

To officially inaugurate the new changes in my world, I give you this to consider and debate:

The term self-fulfilling prophesy, with regard to education, means that students perform in ways in which teachers expect. Their performance is based on subtle and sometimes not so subtle messages from teachers about students’ worth, intelligence, and capability.

Agree? Disagree?

Filed under: Blogging, CCfB, church, education, family, moving

2 Responses

  1. Jackie says:

    Joe, wishing you all the best with your training…would love to hear about some of the stuff you’re doing. Four weeks sounds very intense–I don’t even like half-day in-service! Excited for all that is going on in your life–when it seems a bit overwhelming, just take a deep breath and remember that it won’t be long before everything is “old-hat” once again. We love you, would love to see all of you, and keep you in our thoughts and prayers daily. Aunt Jackie
    P.S. Things could be worse…I just was attacked by fireants while trimming some trees in our yard. I’ve never disrobed so quickly…in the garage of course!

  2. yael says:

    Your readers are here! Even the new mommies!

Leave a comment