Joe Hays

Icon

from brklyn to the lou; from preaching to teaching

A Position of Privilege

Being a pastor as a profession has many privileges. This Friday night I get to take advantage of one of the great privileges of being a pastor. This Friday night I’ll officiate a wedding. But not just any wedding. The bride-to-be was one Ira’s doctors.

One of her fields of specialty is ECMO – the life support system that Ira was on for the first eight days of his life. This doctor and her team were with Ira, with our family during those eight very long and excruciating days. This doctor and her team were good about cluing Laura and me in on the intricacies of ECMO but more importantly this doctor empathized with our plight. And that’s why I gladly agreed to officiate her wedding.

Sure, there are times when my profession is full of frustrations but it’s times like these when I am reminded of the privilege it is to serve as a pastor.

Filed under: Uncategorized

April 2006
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Flickr Photos

Categories

Archives